2020 NASCAR Cup Series race winners The pandemic-reduced crowd watched Clint Bowyer emerge as the leader with Jimmie Johnson second in the last Texas race as full-time drivers for both veterans.

The cars kept running for eight laps after the weather caution first came out as jet dryers circled the track. The cars sat uncovered on pit road for about half and hour before the tarps came out and the drivers and crews headed for cover.

NASCAR Cup Series playoff race race at Texas Motor Speedway postponed until Monday

Cars sit on pit row as a heavy mist delays the Autotrader EchoPark Automotive 500 at Texas Motor Speedway. (Photo: Raymond Carlin III, USA TODAY Sports)

It was fitting that Bowyer and the seven-time series champion Johnson were leading when the race was stopped. Both were honored before the race, with victory lane being named after Johnson. His seven Texas wins are the most on the 1 1/2-mile, high-banked tri oval.

Texas Gov. Greg Abbott named Johnson an honorary Texan. The 45-year-old is planning to run part time in IndyCar next year.

The 41-year-old Bowyer, a 10-time winner in 16 Cup seasons and twice a runner-up in Texas, plans to move into the broadcast booth next season.

“Jimmie and Clint are tremendous ambassadors of our sport, both on and off the track, so we wanted to do something special for their final time here,” Texas Motor Speedway President Eddie Gossage said.

Martin Truex Jr. was moved to the back of the field because of an illegal spoiler, and crew chief James Small was ejected. But Truex, also fined $35,000 and docked 20 points in a blow to his championship outlook, was all the way up to fifth when the race was stopped.

Joey Logano is the only driver guaranteed a spot in the final four after winning the first of three qualifying races last week in Kansas. The last qualifier in the round of eight is next week at Martinsville before the championship finale in Phoenix.

Kevin Harvick, who has won the last three fall races in Texas and is a nine-time winner this season, is in the best shape among the other seven playoff contenders.